Around the World in 80 Trees

The book combines history, science and a wealth of quirky detail - there should be surprises for everyone.

Author: Jonathan Drori

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1786275422

Category: Nature

Page: 240

View: 606

“An arboreal odyssey” – NATURE “One of the most quietly beautiful books of the year” – DAILY MAIL Discover the secretive world of trees in Jonathan Drori’s number one bestseller... Bestselling author and environmentalist Jonathan Drori follows in the footsteps of Phileas Fogg as he tells the stories of 80 magnificent trees from all over the globe. In Around the World in 80 Trees, Jonathan Drori uses plant science to illuminate how trees play a role in every part of human life, from the romantic to the regrettable. From the trees of Britain (this is a top search term), to India's sacred banyan tree, they offer us sanctuary and inspiration – not to mention the raw materials for everything from aspirin to maple syrup. Stops on the trip include the lime trees of Berlin's Unter den Linden boulevard, which intoxicate amorous Germans and hungry bees alike, the swankiest streets in nineteenth-century London, which were paved with Australian eucalyptus wood, and the redwood forests of California, where the secret to the trees' soaring heights can be found in the properties of the tiniest drops of water. Each of these strange and true tales – populated by self-mummifying monks, tree-climbing goats and ever-so-slightly radioactive nuts – is illustrated by Lucille Clerc, taking the reader on a journey that is as informative as it is beautiful. The book combines history, science and a wealth of quirky detail - there should be surprises for everyone. Perfect for fans of Peter Wohlleben’s The Hidden Life of Trees, this new book will certainly whet the appetite of any tree lover to take an around-the-world trip, or simply visit your local botanic garden. The perfect travel guide for nature enthusiasts.

Around the World in 80 Trees

A visual celebration of trees found across the world. As the book takes the reader on a journey around the world, it reveals trees that give us food and medicine, trees with ancient legends, record-breaking trees and more.

Author: Ben Lerwill

Publisher:

ISBN: 9781913519360

Category:

Page: 0

View: 697

A visual celebration of trees found across the world. As the book takes the reader on a journey around the world, it reveals trees that give us food and medicine, trees with ancient legends, record-breaking trees and more. Focus spreads will explore subjects such as the life cycle of trees and why they are vital to the Earth's health.

Around the World in 80 Plants

Tells the stories of 80 plants from around the globe, bringing to life the science of plants by revealing how their worlds are intricately entwined with our own history, culture and folklore

Author: Jonathan Drori

Publisher: Laurence King Publishing

ISBN: 9781786272300

Category:

Page: 216

View: 99

Tells the stories of 80 plants from around the globe, bringing to life the science of plants by revealing how their worlds are intricately entwined with our own history, culture and folklore



Around the World in Eighty Days

The story of the journey made by a Victorian gentleman, Phileas Fogg, who wagered that he could travel around the world in eighty daysFive weeks in a balloon was Verne's first novel, which documents a jaunt across Africa in a hydrogen ...

Author: Jules Verne

Publisher: Wordsworth Editions

ISBN: 9781853260902

Category: Fiction

Page: 388

View: 189

The story of the journey made by a Victorian gentleman, Phileas Fogg, who wagered that he could travel around the world in eighty daysFive weeks in a balloon was Verne's first novel, which documents a jaunt across Africa in a hydrogen balloonm.

The Garden

During the day , Colin Crosbie , Superintendent of the Arboretum at RHS Garden Wisley , will give a lecture entitled ' Around the World in 80 Trees ' . A further part of the celebrations will be the unveiling of a new contemporary ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 648


The Book of Tree Poems

The Book of Tree Poems taps into the trend for gifty poetry anthologies and is a beautifully illustrated gift for any tree lover with a passion for literature.

Author: Ana McLaughlin

Publisher:

ISBN: 9781399609098

Category:

Page: 128

View: 687


The Little Book of Trees

- A compact encyclopedia of 80 varieties of trees from around the world - Beautifully packaged - hardback, foam filled, with gilt edging - Richly illustrated with vintage lithographs Where does the apricot tree come from?

Author: Dominique Pen Du

Publisher:

ISBN: 9782379641039

Category: Art

Page: 176

View: 229

-A compact encyclopedia of 80 varieties of trees from around the world -Beautifully packaged - hardback, foam filled, with gilt edging -Richly illustrated with vintage lithographs Where does the apricot tree come from? Why is the oak-tree regarded as the king of all trees? What is made from the walnut tree? Why were lindens planted around churches in the Middle Ages? What are the birch-tree's pharmaceutical properties? Why is the yew's shade deemed to be dangerous? Exquisitely illustrated with colorful lithographs, this little album is a pocket-sized encyclopedia, containing hundreds of anecdotes on around 80 species of trees.

Tree Care Industry

Gerard Fournier : You told us to “ touch trees ” and you touched our hearts forever . God bless you and keep you , your inspiration will be with me always ! there along with Bob Felix . Alex presented his findings ... around the world .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Arboriculture

Page:

View: 564