Cruel Beauty

Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.

Author: Rosamund Hodge

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 0062224751

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 368

View: 743

If you’re excited about the upcoming Disney film Beauty and the Beast, starring Emma Watson, don’t miss Cruel Beauty. The romance of Beauty and the Beast meets the adventure of Graceling in this dazzling fantasy novel about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny. Perfect for fans of bestselling An Ember in the Ashes and A Court of Thorns and Roses, this gorgeously written debut infuses the classic fairy tale with glittering magic, a feisty heroine, and a romance sure to take your breath away. Betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom, Nyx has always known that her fate was to marry him, kill him, and free her people from his tyranny. But on her seventeenth birthday when she moves into his castle high on the kingdom's mountaintop, nothing is what she expected—particularly her charming and beguiling new husband. Nyx knows she must save her homeland at all costs, yet she can't resist the pull of her sworn enemy—who's gotten in her way by stealing her heart.

Cruel Beauty

Catalogus met sculpturen van de Nederlandse kunstenares.

Author: Marliz Frencken

Publisher:

ISBN: 9789089100894

Category: Femininity in art

Page: 136

View: 484

Catalogus met sculpturen van de Nederlandse kunstenares.

Crimson Bound

Inspired by the classic fairy tale Little Red Riding Hood, Crimson Bound is an exhilarating tale of darkness, love, and redemption from Cruel Beauty author Rosamund Hodge.

Author: Rosamund Hodge

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 0062224786

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 464

View: 570

An exhilarating tale of darkness, love, and redemption inspired by the classic fairy tale Little Red Riding Hood and the extravagant court of Versailles, from the author of Cruel Beauty. A doomed warrior and the king's most notorious bastard must join forces to defeat a dark evil in this gorgeously intricate fantasy—perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and A Court of Thorns and Roses. When Rachelle was fifteen she was good—apprenticed to her aunt and in training to protect her village from dark magic. But she was also reckless—straying from the forest path in search of a way to free her world from the threat of eternal darkness. After an illicit meeting goes dreadfully wrong, Rachelle is forced to make a terrible choice that binds her to the very evil she had hoped to defeat. Three years later, Rachelle has given her life to serving the realm, fighting deadly creatures in a vain effort to atone. When the king orders her to guard his son Armand—the man she hates most—Rachelle forces Armand to help her hunt for the legendary sword that might save their world. Together, they navigate the opulent world of the courtly elite, where beauty and power reign and no one can be trusted. And as the two become unexpected allies, they discover far-reaching conspiracies, hidden magic . . . and a love that may be their undoing. Within a palace built on unbelievable wealth and dangerous secrets, can Rachelle discover the truth and stop the fall of endless night?

Gilded Ashes A Cruel Beauty Novella

A romantic and fantastical reimagining of the classic Cinderella tale, Gilded Ashes is a novella by Rosamund Hodge set in the same world as the author's debut novel, Sundered.

Author: Rosamund Hodge

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 0062266802

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 111

View: 317

Gilded Ashes is an atmospheric and darkly romantic reimagining of Cinderella set in the world of Cruel Beauty. Perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and A Court of Thorns and Roses. Maia doesn't see the point of love when it only brings people pain: Her dead mother haunts anyone who hurts Maia, and her stepsisters are desperate for their mother's approval, even though she despises them. Meanwhile, Anax, heir to the Duke of Sardis, doesn't believe in love either—not since he discovered that his childhood sweetheart was only using him for his noble title. But when Maia's and Anax's paths cross before the royal ball, they discover that love might not be the curse they once thought. And it might even be the one thing that can save them both. Fans who love Kristin Cashore and Rae Carson will find everything they're looking for in this extraordinary and romantic novella Epic Reads Impulse is a digital imprint with new releases each month.


Cruel Children in Popular Texts and Cultures

For some, the persistence of suffering in these worlds of beauty is about conveying the complexity of life to the young reader: “life is cruel; abundance is ...

Author: Monica Flegel

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 3319722751

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 312

View: 922

This book explores how alarmist social discourses about 'cruel' young people fail to recognize the complexity of cruelty and the role it plays in child agency. Examining representations of cruel young people in popular texts and popular culture, the collected essays demonstrate how gender, race, and class influence who gets labeled 'cruel' and which actions are viewed as negative, aggressive, and disruptive. It shows how representations of cruel young people negotiate the violence that shadows polite society, and how narratives of cruelty and aggression are used to affirm, or to deny, young people’s agency.


The Odes of Horace

ODE X. TO A CRUEL BEAUTY . Ah , cruel , cruel still , And yet divinely fair , When T'ime with fingers chill Shall thin the wavy hair , Which now in many a ...

Author: Horace

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Latin poetry

Page: 312

View: 794




Cruel Beauty Confessions of a Dominatrix

CRUEL BEAUTY by Antonia Everett The Rising Political Star from a large Southern state showed up at my dungeon wearing enough aftershave for himself and a ...

Author: Antonia Everett

Publisher: John Mendelsohn

ISBN: 1452418969

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page:

View: 601

Tells why and how Mistress Antonia became the American Southeast's most sought-after professional dominatrix. No domme memoir you've ever read will have you prepared you for this one.



Works

Spenser has appropriated the cruel beauty of Chartier ' s La Belle Dame sans Merci , or Sir Richard Ros ' s version of the same ( With F . Q . 6 . 7 .

Author: Edmund Spenser

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 191



Good Music

(No, I will not trust you, blind Love and cruel beauty! [1741), but this is the music Handel uses in Messiah for the chorus “For unto us a Child is born” ...

Author: John J. Sheinbaum

Publisher: University of Chicago Press

ISBN: 022659338X

Category: Music

Page: 304

View: 888

Over the past two centuries Western culture has largely valorized a particular kind of “good” music—highly serious, wondrously deep, stylistically authentic, heroically created, and strikingly original—and, at the same time, has marginalized music that does not live up to those ideals. In Good Music, John J. Sheinbaum explores these traditional models for valuing music. By engaging examples such as Handel oratorios, Beethoven and Mahler symphonies, jazz improvisations, Bruce Springsteen, and prog rock, he argues that metaphors of perfection do justice to neither the perceived strengths nor the assumed weaknesses of the music in question. Instead, he proposes an alternative model of appreciation where abstract notions of virtue need not dictate our understanding. Good music can, with pride, be playful rather than serious, diverse rather than unified, engaging to both body and mind, in dialogue with manifold styles and genres, and collaborative to the core. We can widen the scope of what music we value and reconsider the conventional rituals surrounding it, while retaining the joys of making music, listening closely, and caring passionately.

Shining Eyes Cruel Fortune

And constantly contemplating all the loveliness of the beauty you write about I cheerfully scorn this world and with utter , careless boldness , I turn away ...

Author: Irma B. Jaffe

Publisher: Fordham Univ Press

ISBN: 9780823221806

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 429

View: 790

This book presents the life stories of twelve extraordinary women who lived passionately and recorded in poetry their happiness and heartbreaks. Our English translations of their poetry are intended to make their poems seem to speak their thoughts, and we have included a CD with sixty-eight of their poems recorded in Italian literature, so that we do in fact hear their thoughts. In addition, several chapters take up some controversial art-historical problems centered on one or another of the women, suggesting possible solutions. This copiously illustrated, interdisciplinary book of 239 poems-poetry-in-context--- is not an anthology; together with the CD of readings, and the challenging art-historical discussions of several paintings, it is unique. There is no other similar book.

Princess s Pregnant My Cruel General

No matter what she did, a beauty was always pleasing to the eyes, even if she was a sickly beauty dressed in tattered bloody clothing.

Author: Bo HeMaoPian

Publisher: Funstory

ISBN: 164884751X

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 132

Before the wedding, General Xiao evaluated the young mistress of the Prime Minister's family: Shameless! After the wedding, General Xiao judged his wife to be "unsightly". Someone dared to ask, "What about now?" General Xiao immediately said: "Madam, you have gone through thick and thin, closing the moon with your shy flowers, being gentle and virtuous, kind and cute, loving everyone, and blooming flowers ... This general really likes it. "

Cruel beauty druk 2

The sculptures by Marliz Frencken appear to originate from a surreal world.

Author: Jan Hoet

Publisher:

ISBN: 9789491403026

Category: Women in art

Page: 160

View: 952

The sculptures by Marliz Frencken appear to originate from a surreal world. They consist of female figurines which are fairytale-like, fragile and precious - and each and every one is unique. At first sight these radiant, eye-catching,colourful sculptures are reminiscent of glazed fruits at a fun fair that spark a childish design to grab them. Frencken adorns her clay figures with curious found items and wraps them up in transparent synthetic resin. Each of the sculptures,regardless of whether they are quietly immersed in thought or ecstatically twisting their bodies, tells its own story. Frencken creates in her sculpture a highly imaginative cosmos in which anything is possible. For example, she provides a slender beauty in a red and white checked dress with an arm reaching right down to the ground - or alternatively places, say, a disco ball, a porcelain bowl or an egg shell on the heads of her creations.