Cruel Beauty

Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.

Author: Rosamund Hodge

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 0062224751

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 368

View: 586

If you’re excited about the upcoming Disney film Beauty and the Beast, starring Emma Watson, don’t miss Cruel Beauty. The romance of Beauty and the Beast meets the adventure of Graceling in this dazzling fantasy novel about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny. Perfect for fans of bestselling An Ember in the Ashes and A Court of Thorns and Roses, this gorgeously written debut infuses the classic fairy tale with glittering magic, a feisty heroine, and a romance sure to take your breath away. Betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom, Nyx has always known that her fate was to marry him, kill him, and free her people from his tyranny. But on her seventeenth birthday when she moves into his castle high on the kingdom's mountaintop, nothing is what she expected—particularly her charming and beguiling new husband. Nyx knows she must save her homeland at all costs, yet she can't resist the pull of her sworn enemy—who's gotten in her way by stealing her heart.

Cruel beauty druk 2

The sculptures by Marliz Frencken appear to originate from a surreal world.

Author: Jan Hoet

Publisher:

ISBN: 9789491403026

Category: Women in art

Page: 160

View: 712

The sculptures by Marliz Frencken appear to originate from a surreal world. They consist of female figurines which are fairytale-like, fragile and precious - and each and every one is unique. At first sight these radiant, eye-catching,colourful sculptures are reminiscent of glazed fruits at a fun fair that spark a childish design to grab them. Frencken adorns her clay figures with curious found items and wraps them up in transparent synthetic resin. Each of the sculptures,regardless of whether they are quietly immersed in thought or ecstatically twisting their bodies, tells its own story. Frencken creates in her sculpture a highly imaginative cosmos in which anything is possible. For example, she provides a slender beauty in a red and white checked dress with an arm reaching right down to the ground - or alternatively places, say, a disco ball, a porcelain bowl or an egg shell on the heads of her creations.

Gilded Ashes A Cruel Beauty Novella

A romantic and fantastical reimagining of the classic Cinderella tale, Gilded Ashes is a novella by Rosamund Hodge set in the same world as the author's debut novel, Sundered.

Author: Rosamund Hodge

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 0062266802

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 111

View: 190

Gilded Ashes is an atmospheric and darkly romantic reimagining of Cinderella set in the world of Cruel Beauty. Perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and A Court of Thorns and Roses. Maia doesn't see the point of love when it only brings people pain: Her dead mother haunts anyone who hurts Maia, and her stepsisters are desperate for their mother's approval, even though she despises them. Meanwhile, Anax, heir to the Duke of Sardis, doesn't believe in love either—not since he discovered that his childhood sweetheart was only using him for his noble title. But when Maia's and Anax's paths cross before the royal ball, they discover that love might not be the curse they once thought. And it might even be the one thing that can save them both. Fans who love Kristin Cashore and Rae Carson will find everything they're looking for in this extraordinary and romantic novella Epic Reads Impulse is a digital imprint with new releases each month.



THE ENGLISH THEATRE IN EIGHT VOLUMES

Most cruel ! cruel brother rather Help - take and bear me fwiftly from the danger .
... But cruel Bullen , cruel beauty kills All whom it fetters , most on whom it smiles :
E 2 Nos 1 sex ; Nor can the elements , nor gentler brutes ANNA BULLEN . 51.

Author: John Dryden

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 548




The Life of William Morley Punshon LL D

The earliest of these — the poet just fourteen years old — reveals him suffering
from “ the whim of cruel beauty . ” It belongs in fact to the long series of Rejected
Addresses ” in which young bards have from the beginning sought relief from the
 ...

Author: Frederic William MacDonald

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Canada

Page: 468

View: 697


A Paradise of English Poetry

CRUEL BEAUTY Love in her sunny eyes does basking play ; Love walks the
pleasant mazes of her hair ; Love does on both her lips for ever stray ; And sows
and reaps a thousand kisses there . In all her outward parts Love's always seen ;
But ...

Author: Henry Charles Beeching

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: English poetry

Page:

View: 642


The Overland Monthly

It is its vast expanse , coupled with its beauty tographic gallery of California
notables is - The Atlantic is beautiful , but it is the beauty of the like most
photographic galleries -- exceeding Bengal tiger : it is a remorseless , cruel
beauty , that ly dull ...

Author: Bret Harte

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: California

Page:

View: 301



Dramatic Works

Gracious Daphné , speak to this cruel beauty , and learn why she has such
hatred for me . SCENE II . — DAPHNÉ , EROXÈNE . Erox . Acanthe has merit ,
and deeply loves you . How is it that you treat him so cruelly ? VOL . II . DAPH .
Tyrène is ...

Author: Molière

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 815


The Galaxy

Admirable, and not exaggerated picture of a cold, cruel beauty, the cruellest and
most coldly selfish of all created things. In portraying moods of mind our new poet
is no less skilful than in his descriptions of passing scenes and his revelations ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 210



The Works of Thomas Hood

... his appearance . “ Why , then , what was the matter with the man ? " A decline ,
Madam . Not the rapid decay of nature , so called , but one of those declines
which an unfortunate lover has sometimes to endure from the lips of a cruel
beauty ...

Author: Thomas Hood

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 736


The College Survey of English Literature The early period The sixteenth century The seventeenth century The eighteenth century

beauty be without goodness . Whereupon doth ven Count Lodovico said , smiling
: “ To you perhaps seldom an ill soul dwell in a beautiful body . And they seem
cruel , because they content you not with therefore is the outward beauty a true ...

Author: Bartlett Jere Whiting

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: English literature

Page:

View: 606


Forgotten Beauty

To the modern day alpinist and mountaineer , the Prenj mountain takes a special
place in their hearts and thoughts ; whether because of its cruel beauty or
because of the sequence of events that left an indelible trace of the development
of ...

Author: Matias Gomez

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Bosnia and Hercegovina

Page: 164

View: 883


Cruel Beauty Confessions of a Dominatrix

CRUEL BEAUTY by Antonia Everett The Rising Political Star from a large
Southern state showed up at my dungeon wearing enough aftershave for himself
and a couple of aides. The first thing I had him do was disrobe completely in front
of ...

Author: Antonia Everett

Publisher: John Mendelsohn

ISBN: 1452418969

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page:

View: 349

Tells why and how Mistress Antonia became the American Southeast's most sought-after professional dominatrix. No domme memoir you've ever read will have you prepared you for this one.