I Am David

Having escaped from the eastern European concentration camp where he has spent most of his life, twelve-year-old David struggles to cope with an entirely strange world as he flees northward to freedom in Denmark.

Author: Anne Holm

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 9780152051617

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 239

View: 641

Having escaped from the eastern European concentration camp where he has spent most of his life, twelve-year-old David struggles to cope with an entirely strange world as he flees northward to freedom in Denmark. Originally published as North to Freedom. An ALA Notable Book. Simultaneous.

I Am David

All the while, how can he be sure they won't catch up with him?This is the remarkable story of David's introduction to the world: sea, mountains, flowers, the colours of Italy, the taste of fruit, people laughing and smiling.

Author: Anne Holm

Publisher:

ISBN: 9781405288736

Category: Children's stories

Page: 191

View: 856

David escapes from the concentration camp where he has spent his entire life and flees across Europe. He is utterly alone. Who can he trust? What will await him? All the while, how can he be sure they won't catch up with him?This is the remarkable story of David's introduction to the world: sea, mountains, flowers, the colours of Italy, the taste of fruit, people laughing and smiling. David learns that his polite mannter, his haunted eyes, and thin features are strange to other people. He must learn to fend for himself in this strange new world.An incredible story of self-discovery and survival against all odds for fans of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and The Book Thief.

A Study Guide for Anne Holm s I Am David

This concise study guide includes plot summary; character analysis; author biography; study questions; historical context; suggestions for further reading; and much more.

Author: Gale, Cengage Learning

Publisher: Gale, Cengage Learning

ISBN: 1535845031

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 18

View: 192

A Study Guide for Anne Holm's "I Am David", excerpted from Gale's acclaimed Novels for Students. This concise study guide includes plot summary; character analysis; author biography; study questions; historical context; suggestions for further reading; and much more. For any literature project, trust Novels for Studentsfor all of your research needs.




I Am David

Author: Anne Holm

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Children's stories

Page: 208

View: 824

This children's classic tells the story of a child who escapes from a concentration camp and survives untold miseries and dangers to find his way home.


The Story Behind Anne Holm s I Am David

This series teaches about historical periods using classic literary works as a resource. Each title offers a unique look into the history of a specific period and region and shows how literature reflects history.

Author: Mary Colson

Publisher: Raintree Publishers

ISBN: 9780431081694

Category: Children of prisoners

Page: 56

View: 881

What was the Gulag? How did the extreme political situations of the mid-twentieth century rob thousands of a childhood? Where did Stalin find workers for his Five Year Plans? Discover how the Cold War in Europe inspired an epic journey to freedom.

North to Freedom

David, who has lived most of his twelve years in a prison camp, makes his escape and travels across Europe. By the time his long and lonely journey is complete he has lost some of his mistrust of people.

Author: Anne Holm

Publisher:

ISBN: 9781405206426

Category: Denmark

Page: 190

View: 542


I Am David

In this book, you will meet a pastor who had all the charisma to lead a growing church but didn't have the ability to control his own demons that were placed on him at an early age.

Author: Mickey Bell

Publisher:

ISBN: 9781642998306

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 126

View: 119


A Teacher s Guide to I Am David

A Teacher's Guide to I Am David Copyright © 2015 by Greg Slingerland
Published by Upper Canada Press St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada All rights
reserved. This book or any portion thereof may not be reproduced or used in any
manner ...

Author: Greg Slingerland

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1312771976

Category: Education

Page: 44

View: 477

A Teacher's Guide to I Am David is a complete novel study for Anne Holm's novel, I Am David. This teacher's guide is designed for middle grade and high school students. Students will be pushed beyond a cursory survey of I Am David and will be led into a deeper analysis of the novel.

New York Magazine

bands secured a pair of pink clogs with two-inch wooden soles and high, high
heels. As she wrote, the lines slanted up across the page, and she spoke a
strange, tangled jargon. "I am born of David ... no woman born, and the
superpower he ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 168

View: 913

New York magazine was born in 1968 after a run as an insert of the New York Herald Tribune and quickly made a place for itself as the trusted resource for readers across the country. With award-winning writing and photography covering everything from politics and food to theater and fashion, the magazine's consistent mission has been to reflect back to its audience the energy and excitement of the city itself, while celebrating New York as both a place and an idea.

Hispanic Immigration and Select Commission on Immigration s Final Report

I am David Gregory from Dartmouth College . STATEMENT OF DAVID NORTH
Mr . NORTH . I guess moving from left to right , which may or may not be symbolic
, I am David North and I am with the New TransCentury Foundation . I have done
 ...

Author: United States. Congress. House. Committee on Post Office and Civil Service. Subcommittee on Census and Population

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Emigration and immigration

Page: 200

View: 981


David Copperfield

I watched her, with my heart at my lips, as she marched to a corner of her garden,
and stooped to dig up some little root-there. ... “I am David Copperfield, of
Blunderstone, in Suffolk —where you came, on the night when I was born, and
saw my ...

Author: Charles Dickens

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 172


Works of Charles Dickens David Copperfield

exclaimed Miss Betsey , in a tone of amaze ment I have never heard approached
: “ If you please , aunt , I am your nephew . ” . " Oh , Lord ! ” said my aunt . And sat
flat down in the garden - path .. “ I am David Copperfield , of Blunderstone , in ...

Author: Charles Dickens

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: England

Page:

View: 423


I Am David

Still, this man understood his divine call to greatness, and you can too. In this book with included study guide, Jimmy Evans shares 10 important lessons from the life of King David.

Author: Jimmy Evans

Publisher: Gateway Press

ISBN: 9781951227227

Category: Religion

Page: 224

View: 797

Have you heard God's calling to greatness? Has the enemy tried to steer you away from His voice? Greatness is carved into every person's DNA. You may be unsure about your calling, or you may think that your failures have disqualified you from God's plan. King David was a world-renowned ruler--hand-picked by God Himself--yet he made many mistakes. Still, this man understood his divine call to greatness, and you can too. In this book with included study guide, Jimmy Evans shares 10 important lessons from the life of King David. You will learn how to: Recognize God's calling on your life Discover the stepping stones to greatness Avoid detours and distractions Redirect your path after mistakes Help others discover their divine callings Greatness is not being perfect. It's being willing to use your gifts for God.

Readings and Scenes from David Copperfield

DAVID [ coming very near ] . If you please , aunt , I am your nephew ! Miss B. Oh ,
Lord ! [ Throwing up hands and sitting flat down upon floor . ] DAVID . I am David
Copperfield , of Blunderstone . I have been very unhappy since my mother died ...

Author: Charles Dickens

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Girls

Page: 59

View: 700


Just As I Am

D. Ring, a victim of cerebral palsy, gives his testimony of victory through Christ in spite of affliction.

Author: David Ring

Publisher: Moody Publishers

ISBN: 9780802417336

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 137

View: 253

D. Ring, a victim of cerebral palsy, gives his testimony of victory through Christ in spite of affliction.

The Strand Magazine

There is only pause , “ and I am sane . What I did , I did one person who can
manage me at these when I was not accountable . Are you going times ; there is
only one person whom I to tell David ? " fear and respect - my black servant
Sambo .

Author: George Newnes

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: England

Page:

View: 427