March Violets

'One of the greatest anti-heroes ever written' LEE CHILD Brutal ex-convicts or the Nazi elite - in Bernie Gunther's world it's hard to tell who are the real gangsters.

Author: Philip Kerr

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1786480875

Category: Fiction

Page: 460

View: 834

'One of the greatest anti-heroes ever written' LEE CHILD Brutal ex-convicts or the Nazi elite - in Bernie Gunther's world it's hard to tell who are the real gangsters. Hard-boiled noir thriller for fans of Raymond Chandler and John le Carré Ex-Berlin cop and private detective Bernie Gunther has seen his share of bad guys. But when the worst guys of all are the ones running the show, it's much harder to stay out of their reach. Hired by a wealthy industrialist to investigate the murder of his daughter and her husband in an apparent botched robbery, Bernie soon finds himself drawn into the complex - not to mention lethal - internal politics and corruption of the Nazi party. When Hermann Goering himself calls Bernie in with a task for him that throws his existing case into a whole new light, he must weigh up his hatred of the Nazis against his desire to stay alive.

The Violets of March

The island has a way of calling you home.

Author: Sarah Jio

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1409190803

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 852

The island has a way of calling you home... Ten years ago, Emily Watson was on top of the world: a best-selling novel, a husband plucked from the pages of a magazine, and a one-way ticket to happily ever after. Now her perfect life has crumbled and Emily is left to pick up the pieces. So when her great-Aunt Bee invites her to spend the month of March on her beloved Bainbridge Island, Emily accepts, longing to be healed by the sea. As she begins researching her next book, Emily discovers a red velvet diary, dated 1943, whose contents reveal a startling secret that could change her life forever... A heart-breaking story of love, hope and second chances, from the international bestselling author of All the Flowers in Paris


Gothic

The March Violets , Crow Baby , cover , 7 " single , Rebirth , 1983 . Courtesy
Rebirth Records . THE MARCH VIOLETS CROW BABY 0 perfect site for
someone with such an unwavering artistic will , but , additionally , it allowed
Eldritch to play a ...

Author: Valerie Steele

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Art

Page: 179

View: 992

"Popularly associated with black-clad teenagers and rock musicians, gothic fashion encompasses not only subcultural styles (from old-school goth to cyber-goth and beyond) but also high fashion by such designers as Alexander McQueen, John Galliano of Christian Dior, Rick Owens, Olivier Theyskens, and Yohji Yamamoto. Fashion photographers, such as Scan Ellis and Eugenio Recuenco, have also drawn on the visual vocabulary of the gothic to convey narratives of dark glamour. As the text and lavish illustrations in this book suggest, gothic fashion has deep cultural roots that give it an enduring potency." "Valerie Steele is director and chief curator of The Museum at the Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT)." -- BOOK JACKET.

Duchess Agnes Etc

MARCH VIOLETS , In all green places where ye blow , Tenderest thoughts of
God that grow , Violets ! March violets ! Hidden hearts that , lying low , Sweeten
all about you so , Violets ! March violets ! The love of youth is in your breath ,
Love of ...

Author: Isa Craig

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 228

View: 304



The Countryman s Jewel

OF HERBES FOR FLOWRES OR NOSEGAIES Marchviolets . ARCH violets as
well the single as the double must be set of whole plants in a well manured
ground , and digd the depth of a foote before the Kalends of March : if you will
sow them ...

Author: William Arthur Woodward

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Country life

Page: 310

View: 554


Kenilworth and Other Poems

VIOLETS . " Oh ! violets , wild March violets , on a hedgerow's bank they bloom ,
Filling all the narrow lane with their freshness and perfume , Nestled warmly ,
bending downward , where the wither'd leaves are hurled All around their tender
 ...

Author: Louise Anderson

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: English poetry

Page: 22

View: 492


Our Year

MARCH VIOLETS . VIOLETS , violets , sweet March violets Sure as March comes
, they'll come too , First the white and then the blue Pretty violets ! White , with just
a pinky dye ; Blue , as little baby's eye , - So like violets . Though the rough ...

Author: Dinah Maria Mulock Craik

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 227

View: 577


Wild Flowers of Catalina

Violets of March Violet is March's child , Blooming on a hilltop wild , Golden faces
, gentle , mild , Violets of March . Blooming in the wind and drought , Hear the
voice of wind shout ! “ Violet blossoms are out , " Violets of March . Five - petaled
 ...

Author: Ann Cloud Reynolds

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Santa Catalina Island (Calif.)

Page: 30

View: 552


Best of Everything

March Violets . was reckoned from the 25th of March . March is now the third
month in the calendar . AGAIN ! again ! my faery dell , The Cook's Calendar for By
the broad river softly flowing ! March . My birches drooping pencilled sprays , My
 ...

Author: Robert Kemp Philp

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Formulas, recipes, etc

Page: 408

View: 118


Berlin Noir

Ex-Policeman Bernie Gunther thought he'd seen everything on the streets of 1930's Berlin.

Author: Philip Kerr

Publisher: Penguin Books Limited

ISBN: 9780241962350

Category: Berlin (Germany)

Page: 866

View: 914

Ex-Policeman Bernie Gunther thought he'd seen everything on the streets of 1930's Berlin. But then he went freelance, and each case he tackled sucked him further into the grisly excesses of Nazi sub-culture. And even after the war, amidst the decayed, imperial splendour of Vienna, Bernie uncovered a legacy that made the wartime atrocities look lily-white in comparison . . ."

Verses original and translated

Arthur Compton Auchmuty. MARCH VIOLETS . 0 FROM nursery years ' twas a
joyous thing , In the fresh delight of the opening spring , Whole quiet afternoons
to pass , Where the violet peep'd from the lusty grass , And whisperd me words
that ...

Author: Arthur Compton Auchmuty

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 43

View: 389


Inside Hitler s Germany

I was what they called a “March violet.” My secret entry into the Hitler Youth dated
from March 1, 1933, and all the leading positions were occupied by the so called
“Old Guard.” I was prepared to respect and admire them without question, but ...

Author: Benjamin C. Sax

Publisher: Wadsworth Publishing Company

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 522

View: 711

A collection of 126 items from source materials (documents, excerpts from books, etc.), dealing with various aspects of the history of Nazi Germany, with essays and comments by the editors. Pp. 185-188 survey Nazi racist ideology. In reference to the Jews, see especially ch. 13 (pp. 397-425), "The Solutions to the 'Jewish Problem', 1933-1941" (items 94-102) and ch. 14 (pp. 427-455), "The Death Camps, 1941-1945" (items 103-106).

Literature for Reading and Memorization

VIOLETS Violets , violets , sweet March violets , Sure as March comes , they'll
come too , First the white and then the blue Pretty violets ! White , with just a pinky
dye , Blue as little baby's eye , - So like violets . Though the rough wind shakes
the ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Children's poetry

Page:

View: 363


The Berlin Noir Series

Berlin Noir: the first three thrillers in the internationally acclaimed and bestselling Bernie Gunther series.

Author: Philip Kerr

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1787472469

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 330

Berlin Noir: the first three thrillers in the internationally acclaimed and bestselling Bernie Gunther series. Ex-policeman Bernie Gunther thought he'd seen everything on the streets of 1930s Berlin. But then the Nazis came to power, and Bernie realised the most dangerous criminals were the ones in charge. 'The greatest anti-hero ever written' - Lee Child MARCH VIOLETS Hired by a wealthy industrialist to investigate the murder of his daughter and her husband, Bernie finds himself drawn into the lethal internal politics of the Nazi party. When Hermann Goering himself calls Bernie in with a task for him that throws his existing case into a whole new light, he must weigh up his hatred of the Nazis against his desire to live. THE PALE CRIMINAL Five German schoolgirls are missing. Four have been found dead, victims of horrific ritual murders. Bernie Gunther is reluctant to investigate, but when Reynhard Heydrich gives you an order, you obey it if you want to stay alive. What Bernie discovers is far worse than a lone madman: an occult conspiracy at the very heart of the Nazi Party. A GERMAN REQUIEM Postwar Vienna was supposed to be somewhere quiet for Bernie to lie low. Then he is asked to clear an old Kripo colleague's name of murder. This man belonged to a secret society of Nazi hunters, and before he knows it Bernie is face to face with men who have been presumed dead for years. They got away with their crimes once. Bernie will see it doesn't happen again.

A Garden of Pleasant Flowers

Single March Violets . The single Garden Violet hath many round greene leaues ,
finely snipt or dented about the edges , standing vpoa seuerall small stalkes , set
at diuers places of the many creeping branches , which as they runne , doe ...

Author: John Parkinson

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Botany

Page: 612

View: 345



The New Yorker

Saturday , March 14 , at 8 and 10. Tickets at 12 , with the GREGG ALLMAN band .
The rest of WEST END , 2911 Broadway , at 113th St. ( 666 the door on the night
of the performances . the lineup : Friday , March 6 , March Violets 8750 ) ...

Author: Harold Wallace Ross

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Literature

Page:

View: 708


The Athenaeum

Into the Violets ! March violets ! Mr. Aytoun , in one pithy verse , has charac-
reasoning upon which this opinion was founded Hidden hearts that lying low ,
Sweeten all about you so , terized the other three hundred and ninety - nine it is
not ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 766