Nothing More Dangerous

But the biggest secret of all is the disappearance of Lida Poe, the African-American woman who keeps the books at the local factory.

Author: Allen Eskens

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1529327075

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 874

'This powerful, unforgettable crime novel is a coming-of-age book to rival some of the best, such as William Kent Krueger's Ordinary Grace or Larry Watson's Montana 1948 . . . A must-read.' Library Journal (starred review) In a small town where loyalty is valued above all, defying unspoken rules can be deadly. A coming-of-age novel for fans of Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter. At fifteen, Boady Sanden dreams of being anywhere other than Jessup, Missouri. Then the Elgins move in across the road. Getting to know his new neighbours - a black family in a community where notions of "us" and "them" still carry weight - Boady is forced to rethink the world he took for granted. Secrets hidden in plain sight begin to unfold. There's the mother consumed by loss of her husband, the neighbour who carries the wounds of a mysterious past, the quiet boss fighting a hidden battle. But the biggest secret of all is the disappearance of Lida Poe, the African-American woman who keeps the books at the local factory. Although Boady has never met the missing woman, he discovers that the threads of her life are woven into the deepest fabric of his world. As the mystery of Lida's fate plays out, Boady begins to see the stark lines of race and class that both bind and divide this small town - and he will be forced to choose sides.

Nothing More Dangerous

But the biggest secret of all is the disappearance of Lida Poe, the African-American woman who keeps the books at the local plastics factory. Word has it that Ms. Poe left town, along with a hundred thousand dollars of company money.

Author: Allen Eskens

Publisher:

ISBN: 9780316494281

Category: FICTION

Page: 293

View: 947

After fifteen years of growing up in the Ozark hills with his widowed mother, high-school freshman Boady Sanden is beyond ready to move on. He dreams of glass towers and cityscapes, driven by his desire to be anywhere other than Jessup, Missouri. The new kid at St. Ignatius High School, if he isn't being pushed around, he is being completely ignored. Even his beloved woods, his playground as a child and his sanctuary as he grew older, seem to be closing in on him, suffocating him. Then Thomas Elgin moves in across the road, and Boady's life begins to twist and turn. Coming to know the Elgins-a black family settling into a community where notions of "us" and "them" carry the weight of history-forces Boady to rethink his understanding of the world he's taken for granted. Secrets hidden in plain sight begin to unfold: the mother who wraps herself in the loss of her husband, the neighbor who carries the wounds of a mysterious past that he holds close, the quiet boss who is fighting his own hidden battle. But the biggest secret of all is the disappearance of Lida Poe, the African-American woman who keeps the books at the local plastics factory. Word has it that Ms. Poe left town, along with a hundred thousand dollars of company money. Although Boady has never met the missing woman, he discovers that the threads of her life are woven into the deepest fabric of his world. As the mystery of her fate plays out, Boady begins to see the stark lines of race and class that both bind and divide this small town, and he is forced to choose sides.



Rediscovering the Kingdom

Myles Munroe. c “There is nothing as powerful as a Concept, and nothing more dangerous than a Misconception.”

Author: Myles Munroe

Publisher: Destiny Image Publishers

ISBN: 0768422574

Category: Christian life

Page: 227

View: 478

Deals with the power of the kingdom of God. It touches on issues like keys that make the Kingdom function, The present and future reality of the Kingdom and the original message and purpose of Jesus.

Parliamentary Debates

My honour- deal with matters connected with the war able friend Major Harris spoke of the itself ; but Parliament must ... And there is nothing more dangerous in another place are , like the vast majority in any speech than to refer to ...

Author: New Zealand. Parliament

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 681


The Stolen Hours

In a race against an evil mastermind, it will take everything Lila’s got to outsmart a killer—and to escape the dark hold of her own past. “A near-perfect thriller, The Stolen Hours is a true nail-biter that will have you reading long ...

Author: Allen Eskens

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0316703508

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 837

A woman finds herself in a race not only for justice but for her life in this "riveting, hold-your-breath" new mystery from the bestselling author of The Life We Bury (Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of The Silent Wife). Lila Nash is on the verge of landing her dream job—working as a prosecutor under the Hennepin County Attorney—and has settled into a happy life with her boyfriend, Joe Talbert. But when a woman is pulled from the Mississippi River, barely alive, things in the office take a personal turn. The police believe the woman’s assailant is local photographer Gavin Spenser, but the case quickly flounders as the evidence wears thin. It seems Gavin saw this investigation coming—and no one can imagine how carefully he has prepared. The more determined Lila is to put Gavin behind bars, the more elusive justice becomes. Battling a vindictive new boss and haunted by the ghosts of her own unspeakable attack, which she’s kept a dark secret for eight long years, Lila knows the clock is ticking down. In a race against an evil mastermind, it will take everything Lila’s got to outsmart a killer—and to escape the dark hold of her own past. “In The Stolen Hours, there’s not a moment misplaced or a second lost. With the precision of a watchmaker, Eskens assembles the fine parts of a mystery and sets them to the tempo of a thriller, leaving the reader breathless.” —Craig Johnson, author of the Walt Longmire Mysteries

No More Sweet Surrender

You think that makes me more violent, more dangerous, than the average man?” “Of course it does. ... Nothing more. Nothing deeper, more dangerous. “Come here,” he said again, softer this time. “I don't think I want to.” “I think you do.

Author: Caitlin Crews

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 0373131240

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 261

Ivan Korovin is determined to cement his evolution from dirt-poor, dreamless kid to billionaire philanthropist. First he has a serious PR problem to take care of: outspoken Miranda Sweet has ruined his repuation by labeling him "Caveman #1" in her bestselling book. The solution? Give the ravenous public what they want—to see the enemies become lovers! From the red carpet in L.A. to black-tie charity balls in Moscow, they play out their pretend love story for all the world to see. But beneath the glare of the spotlight, it's getting harder to tell what's real and what's for show.…

Weighty words from the writings of J N D

Truth is never really ours , but as the affections are kept in order by it . And having on the breastplate of ... 59 There is nothing more dangerous than to use the word when it has not touched my conscience . I put myself into Satan's ...

Author: John Nelson Darby

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Plymouth Brethren

Page:

View: 380


A History of the earth and animated nature v 2

... nothing more flame and sulphur , and rivers of melted metal . awful , ” says Kircher , “ than the eruptions of Whole clouds of smoke and ashes , with rocks of this mountain , nor nothing more dangerous than enormous size ...

Author: Oliver Goldsmith

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 930