Storm of Steel

Ernst Junger served in the German front line, fighting both the British and the French for most of World War I. Young, tough, patriotic but also disturbingly self-aware, he exulted in the war, which he saw not just as a great national ...

Author: Ernst Jünger

Publisher: Allan Lane

ISBN:

Category: Soldiers

Page: 288

View: 936

Ernst Junger served in the German front line, fighting both the British and the French for most of World War I. Young, tough, patriotic but also disturbingly self-aware, he exulted in the war, which he saw not just as a great national struggle but - more importantly - as a unique personal struggle. Leading raiding parties, defending trenches against murderous British incursions, simply enduring as shells tore his comrades apart, Junger kept testing himself, braced for the death that would mark his failure. bestseller and can now be rediscovered through Michael Hofmann's translation.

Storm of Steel

Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.

Author: Ernst Junger

Publisher: Penguin Classics

ISBN: 9780143108252

Category:

Page: 320

View: 233

One of the great war memoirs, published here in a stunning Deluxe Edition for the centenary of World War I and the Battle of the Somme—and featuring a foreword by the New York Times bestselling author of Matterhorn A worldwide bestseller published shortly after the end of World War I, Storm of Steel is a memoir of astonishing power, savagery, and ashen lyricism. It illuminates not only the horrors but also the fascination of total war, as seen through the eyes of an ordinary German soldier. Young, tough, patriotic, but also disturbingly self-aware, Ernst Jünger exulted in the Great War, which he saw not just as a great national conflict but also—more importantly—as a unique personal struggle. Leading raiding parties, defending trenches against murderous British incursions, simply enduring as shells tore his comrades apart, Jünger keeps testing himself, braced for the death that will mark his failure. His account is ripe for rediscovery upon the centennial of the Battle of the Somme—a major set piece in Storm of Steel—and a bracing read for fans of Redeployment and American Sniper. For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.

The Storm of Steel

Update from MGP 10/23/2020 - Another comprehensive review of the manuscript has been completed, removing the last remaining typographical errors from all new printings of this edition.

Author: Ernst Jünger

Publisher: Independently Published

ISBN: 9781696237727

Category:

Page: 187

View: 949

Originally published in 1920, The Storm of Steel is a first-hand account of World War I trench combat lifted from the diaries of Ernst Jünger, a German infantryman who would become one of Europe's most talented writers. The book was first translated into English in 1929 by Basil Creighton, the acclaimed translator of many other classic works of German literature, and was widely hailed as a masterpiece. The Storm of Steel remains the definitive account of World War I, following Jünger through several major engagements as he develops from an eager young soldier into a battle-hardened officer. Subsequent revisions by the author removed many of the original editions' vivid descriptions of battle, along with his reflections on leadership, patriotism, and the nature of heroism, while later translations failed to compare to the original's compelling and readable prose. The original translation eventually fell out-of-print, and is now being made available for the first time in decades to allow a new generation of readers to experience the classic that introduced millions to one of Europe's greatest voices.

Storm of Steel

They seemed to sprout from the fire-harrowed soil like some iron harvest ...' Storm of Steel is one of the greatest works to emerge from the catastrophe of the First World War.

Author: Ernst Junger

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 014190691X

Category: History

Page: 320

View: 551

'As though walking through a deep dream, I saw steel helmets approaching through the craters. They seemed to sprout from the fire-harrowed soil like some iron harvest ...' Storm of Steel is one of the greatest works to emerge from the catastrophe of the First World War. A memoir of astonishing power, savagery and ashen lyricism, it illuminates like no other book the horrors but also the fascination of total war, presenting the conflict through the eyes of an ordinary German soldier. As an account of the terrors of the Western Front and of the sickening allure that made men keep fighting on for four long years, Storm of Steel has no equal.

Storm of Steel

AD 643. Anglo-Saxon Britain. Heading south to lands he once considered his home, Beobrand is plunged into a dark world of piracy and slavery when an old friend enlists his help to recover a kidnapped girl.

Author: Matthew Harffy

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN: 178669638X

Category: Fiction

Page: 672

View: 834

AD 643. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and the sixth instalment in the Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. Heading south to lands he once considered his home, Beobrand is plunged into a dark world of piracy and slavery when an old friend enlists his help to recover a kidnapped girl. Embarking onto the wind-tossed seas, Beobrand pursues his quarry with single-minded tenacity. But the Whale Road is never calm and his journey is beset with storms, betrayal and violence. As the winds of his wyrd blow him ever further from what he knows, will Beobrand find victory on his quest or has his luck finally abandoned him?

Storm of Steel

Author: Ernst Jünger

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Soldiers

Page: 264

View: 109

Storm of Steel depicts Ernst Junger's experience of combat in the German front line - leading raiding parties, defending trenches against murderous British incursions, and simply enduring as shells tore his comrades apart.


Storm of Steel

Storm of Steel relates how the German and Soviet armies formulated and chose to put into practice doctrines that were innovative for the time, yet in many respects identical to one another.As part of her extensive archival research in ...

Author: Mary R. Habeck

Publisher: Cornell University Press

ISBN: 0801471389

Category: History

Page: 336

View: 255

In this fascinating account of the battle tanks that saw combat in the European Theater of World War II, Mary R. Habeck traces the strategies developed between the wars for the use of armored vehicles in battle. Only in Germany and the Soviet Union were truly original armor doctrines (generally known as "blitzkreig" and "deep battle") fully implemented. Storm of Steel relates how the German and Soviet armies formulated and chose to put into practice doctrines that were innovative for the time, yet in many respects identical to one another. As part of her extensive archival research in Russia, Germany, and Britain, Habeck had access to a large number of formerly secret and top-secret documents from several post-Soviet archives. This research informs her comparative approach as she looks at the roles of technology, shared influences, and assumptions about war in the formation of doctrine. She also explores relations between the Germans and the Soviets to determine whether collaboration influenced the convergence of their armor doctrines.


Storm and Steel

The remarkable second volume in The Book of the Black Earth, Storm and Steel is a searing, action packed fantasy epic.

Author: Jon Sprunk

Publisher: Jabberwocky Literary Agency, Inc.

ISBN: 1625671598

Category: Fiction

Page: 479

View: 744

After liberating Queen Byleth from the temple of the Sun Cult, Horace has ascended from slave to First Sword and confidant of the queen. He must now harness his power as a sorcerer while navigating complex political intrigue in a foreign land. Further complications arise when Alyra, former spy at court, returns. She has her own mysterious agenda, and Horace is forced to contend with this as well as his growing passion for her. Meanwhile, Jirom and his lover Emanon have joined the growing slave rebellion, rising through the ranks as they fight for the very cause Horace has been commanded to destroy. With the kingdom on the brink of war, a rash of assassinations, and orders from Queen Byleth to crush the slave rebellion at any cost, Horace is stuck between his opposition to human bondage, and his newfound duty as the protector of the realm. The remarkable second volume in The Book of the Black Earth, Storm and Steel is a searing, action packed fantasy epic.










Erich Maria Remarque s All Quiet on the Western Front

R. H. Mottram's introduction to Storm of Steel reveals disgust with Jünger's love of war alongside a strong fascination with his daring and dynamism. Cyril Falls admits that Jünger is a danger to society but cannot re- sist liking and ...

Author: Harold Bloom

Publisher: Infobase Publishing

ISBN: 160413402X

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 224

View: 796

This 1929 novel served as Remarque's attempt to confront and ultimately rid himself of the graphic and haunting memories of his time serving in World War I. A novel with autobiographical overtones, ""All Quiet on the Western Front"" traces the evolution of one man's powerful antiwar sentiments. This new title in the ""Bloom's Modern Critical Interpretations"" series features a fresh selection of full-length critical essays, in addition to a bibliography, a chronology of the author's life, and an introduction by esteemed scholar Harold Bloom.