The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali

Seventeen-year-old Rukhsana Ali tries her hardest to live up to her conservative Muslim parents' expectations, but lately she's finding that impossible to do.

Author: Sabina Khan

Publisher: Scholastic UK

ISBN: 140719531X

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 366

View: 888

Seventeen-year-old Rukhsana Ali tries her hardest to live up to her conservative Muslim parents' expectations, but lately she's finding that impossible to do. She rolls her eyes when they blatantly favour her brother and saves her crop tops and makeup for parties her parents don't know about. If she can just hold out another few months, Rukhsana will be out of her familial home and away from her parents' ever-watchful eyes at Caltech, a place where she thinks she can finally be herself. But when she is caught kissing her girlfriend Ariana, her devastated parents take Rukhsana to Bangladesh, where everything she had been planning is out of reach. There, immersed in a world of tradition and arranged marriages, Rukhsana finds the perspective she's been looking for in her grandmother's old diary. The only question left for her to answer is: Can she fight for the life she wants without losing her family in the process?


Zara Hossain Is Here

Zara's family has waited years for their visa process to be finalized so that they can officially become US citizens.

Author: Sabina Khan

Publisher: Scholastic Incorporated

ISBN: 9781338819625

Category:

Page: 256

View: 963

From the author of The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali, comes a timely, intimate look at what it means to be an immigrant in America today, and the endurance of hope and faith in the face of hate. Stand up. Speak out. Stay true. Ever since her family moved to Texas from Pakistan when she was a baby, seventeen-year-old Zara Hossain has only ever called Corpus Christi home. Being the only Muslim girl at her conservative Catholic school, blending in isn't really an option, especially with people like Tyler Benson always tormenting her. But one day Tyler takes things too far by defacing Zara's locker with a racist message, which gets him suspended. As an act of revenge, Tyler and his friends vandalize the Hossains' house with Islamophobic graffiti, which leads to a violent crime that puts Zara and her family's entire future at risk. Now she must choose between fighting to stay in the only place she's ever called home and losing the life she loves and everyone in it.

Sway With Me

She's All That goes desi in this hilarious, affecting, and sweetly romantic comedy by the author of More Than Just a Pretty Face.

Author: Syed Masood

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 152931139X

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 336

View: 547

She's All That goes desi in this hilarious, affecting, and sweetly romantic comedy by the author of More Than Just a Pretty Face. Arsalan has learned everything he knows from Nana, his 100-year-old great-grandfather. This includes the fact that when Nana dies, Arsalan will be completely alone in the world, except for his estranged and abusive father. So he turns to Beenish, the step-daughter of a prominent matchmaker, to find him a future life partner. Beenish's request in return? That Arsalan help her ruin her older sister's wedding with a spectacular dance she's been forbidden to perform. Despite knowing as little about dancing as he does about girls, Arsalan wades into Beenish's chaotic world to discover friends and family he never expected. And though Arsalan's old-school manners and Beenish's take-no-prisoners attitude clash every minute, they find themselves getting closer and closer - literally. All that's left to realize is that the thing they both really want is each other, if only they can get into step. Praise for MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE 'A deliciously entertaining rom-com' - Nandini Bajpai, author of A Match Made in Mehendi 'A laugh-out-loud yet heartwarming story about familial obligations, friendship, and love' - Sabina Khan, author of The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali 'Funny, open-hearted, and utterly charming... a spectacular debut' - Katie Henry, author of Heretics Anonymous 'Hilarious and teeming with heart... I am a forever fan' Erin Hahn, author of You'd Be Mine

More Than Just a Pretty Face

This is a spectacular debut.' - Katie Henry, author of Heretics Anonymous 'Hilarious and teeming with heart, More Than Just a Pretty Face challenged me, wounded me, made me laugh, and made me love.

Author: Syed Masood

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1529311349

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 320

View: 980

'A deliciously entertaining rom-com.' - Nandini Bajpai, author of A Match Made in Mehendi Danyal Jilani doesn't lack confidence. He may not be the smartest guy in the room, but he's funny, gorgeous, and going to make a great chef one day. His father doesn't approve of his career choice, but that hardly matters. What does matter is the opinion of Danyal's longtime crush, the perfect-in-all-ways Kaval, and her family, who consider him a less than ideal arranged marriage prospect. When Danyal gets selected for Renaissance Man, a school-wide academic championship, it's the perfect opportunity to show everyone he's smarter than they think. He recruits the brilliant, totally-uninterested-in-him Bisma to help with the competition, but the more time Danyal spends with her . . . the more he learns from her...the more he cooks for her . . . the more he realizes that happiness may be staring him right in his pretty face. In this young adult debut full of depth and heart, author Syed M. Masood will have readers laughing, sighing, tearing up, and shouting 'YES!' at the top of their lungs. Perfect for fans of Sandhya Menon and Jenny Han. Praise for MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE 'A laugh-out-loud yet heartwarming story about familial obligations, friendship, and love. Syed M. Masood has created an unforgettable cast of characters with the utterly charming, hilarious, and most endearing Danyal Jilani at the center of it. A thoroughly enjoyable read and a great addition to any bookshelf.' - Sabina Khan, author of The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali 'Funny, open-hearted, and utterly charming, More Than Just a Pretty Face perfectly captures the joys of friendship and first love, as well as all the complexities of identity, faith, and family. This is a spectacular debut.' - Katie Henry, author of Heretics Anonymous 'Hilarious and teeming with heart, More Than Just a Pretty Face challenged me, wounded me, made me laugh, and made me love. Danyal has secured his place as a heroic protagonist for the ages who only wants the very best for those he loves. His friends and family are so lucky to have him, and readers will be lucky to have Syed M. Masood's debut. I am a forever fan.' Erin Hahn, author of You'd Be Mine

Counting Down with You

"A witty, romantic, deeply insightful debut." —Emma Lord, author of Tweet Cute In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved Bangladeshi-American teenager has twenty-eight days to make the biggest decision of her life after agreeing ...

Author: Tashie Bhuiyan

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 0369700147

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 304

View: 128

"A witty, romantic, deeply insightful debut." —Emma Lord, author of Tweet Cute In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved Bangladeshi teenager has twenty-eight days to make the biggest decision of her life after agreeing to fake date her school’s resident bad boy. How do you make one month last a lifetime? Karina Ahmed has a plan. Keep her head down, get through high school without a fuss, and follow her parents’ rules—even if it means sacrificing her dreams. When her parents go abroad to Bangladesh for four weeks, Karina expects some peace and quiet. Instead, one simple lie unravels everything. Karina is my girlfriend. Tutoring the school’s resident bad boy was already crossing a line. Pretending to date him? Out of the question. But Ace Clyde does everything right—he brings her coffee in the mornings, impresses her friends without trying, and even promises to buy her a dozen books (a week) if she goes along with his fake-dating facade. Though Karina agrees, she can’t help but start counting down the days until her parents come back. T-minus twenty-eight days until everything returns to normal—but what if Karina no longer wants it to? "I. Love. This. Book." —Mark Oshiro, award-winning author of Anger Is a Gift and Each of Us a Desert "A must-have addition to any YA bookshelf." —Sabina Khan, author of Zara Hossain Is Here and The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali "Hand to fans of Netflix hit Never Have I Ever." —Booklist

Meet Me in Mumbai

Perfect for fans of Sabina Khan's other books Zara Hossain is Here and The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali Deals with relatable teen issues and portrays the intersection of teen pregnancy with Muslim and Indian culture Compelling dual ...

Author: Sabina Khan

Publisher:

ISBN: 9780702319433

Category:

Page: 320

View: 745

A novel in two acts - told eighteen years apart - gives voice to both mother (Ayesha) and daughter (Mira) after an unplanned teen pregnancy led Ayesha to place Mira up for adoption. Coming to the US to study, Ayesha is swept up in a whirlwind romance with Suresh - an Indian boy who reminds her of home. Mere months away from starting university, she falls pregnant and finds herself alone. She makes the difficult decision to hide her pregnancy and put her daughter up for adoption, before returning to India. Years later, seventeen-year-old Mira Fuller-Jensen has had a comfortable childhood but has never felt quite like she fit in their majority white community. All she knows is that her mums adopted her when she was born and that her biological mother was a student who went back to India. When she comes across letters addressed to her from her birth mother, she sees a way to finally capture that feeling of belonging. Her mother writes that if Mira can forgive her for having to give her up, she should find a way to travel to India for her eighteenth birthday and meet her. Mira knows she'll always regret it if she doesn't go. But is she actually ready for what she will learn? Perfect for fans of Sabina Khan's other books Zara Hossain is Here and The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali Deals with relatable teen issues and portrays the intersection of teen pregnancy with Muslim and Indian culture Compelling dual perspectives - Ayesha is brave and loving, Mira is curious but lost and both make engaging narrators

Theatre Record

2 Love Comes in ท at the Window AL D LOVE COMES IN AT THE WINDOW 1 Bu 22 CH T CO E ! pany Kali . atre ' ... found here . breathes lethal passion into Cocteau's miniature studies of louche liars and ali Theatre Company presents this Whit ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Theater

Page:

View: 517


Teenager

It signifies one's love for the motherGovernment would not tolerate slackness on part of land ox , to be more exact , for the Fatherany official ... Science College - 814 / 1000 — First ) : 17155 Rukhsana Asad - St . Joseph's Govt .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Youth

Page:

View: 450