The Maltese Falcon

THE MALTESE FALCON (1930) set the standard by which the private eye genre is judged.

Author: Dashiell Hammett

Publisher: Orion Publishing Group

ISBN: 9780752847641

Category: Crime investigations

Page: 213

View: 190

THE MALTESE FALCON (1930) set the standard by which the private eye genre is judged. Sam Spade is hired by the fragrant Miss Wonderley to track down her sister, who has eloped with a louse called Floyd Thursby. But Miss Wonderley is in fact the beautiful and treacherous Brigid O'Shaughnessy, and when Spade's partner Miles Archer is shot while on Thursby's trail, Spade finds himself both hunter and hunted: can he track down the jewel-encrusted bird, a treasure worth killing for, before the Fat Man finds him?

The Maltese Falcon

Sam, entangled in a dangerous web of crime and intrigue, soon realizes he must find the one thing they all seem to want: the bejeweled Maltese falcon.

Author: Dustin Shawn Staples

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 112

View: 732

In this noir classic, detective Sam Spade (Humphrey Bogart) gets more than he bargained for when he takes a case brought to him by a beautiful but secretive woman (Mary Astor). As soon as Miss Wonderly shows up, trouble follows as Sam's partner is murdered and Sam is accosted by a man (Peter Lorre) demanding he locate a valuable statuette. Sam, entangled in a dangerous web of crime and intrigue, soon realizes he must find the one thing they all seem to want: the bejeweled Maltese falcon.




Study Guide to The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett

Hammett, he says, “unwaveringly represents the world of crime as a reproduction
in both structure and detail of the modern capitalist society that it depends on,
preys off of, and is part of . . . the Maltese Falcon itself . . . turns out to be and ...

Author: Intelligent Education

Publisher: Influence Publishers

ISBN: 1645420779

Category: Study Aids

Page: 170

View: 968

A comprehensive study guide offering in-depth explanation, essay, and test prep for Dashiell Hammett’s The Maltese Falcon, who is considered one of the best detective-story writers in America. As an author of action-detective novels, Hammett wrote legendary characters which were eventually turned into movie, radio, and TV drama figures. Moreover, his work explored complex themes such as logic prevailing over crime and the place of order in human life. This Bright Notes Study Guide explores the context and history of Hammett’s classic work, helping students to thoroughly explore the reasons it has stood the literary test of time. Each Bright Notes Study Guide contains: - Introductions to the Author and the Work - Character Summaries - Plot Guides - Section and Chapter Overviews - Test Essay and Study Q&As The Bright Notes Study Guide series offers an in-depth tour of more than 275 classic works of literature, exploring characters, critical commentary, historical background, plots, and themes. This set of study guides encourages readers to dig deeper in their understanding by including essay questions and answers as well as topics for further research.


Discovering the Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade

Many of the discoveries here are previously unpublished. The book provides hundreds of rare documents and original source materials, including production notes for the three movie versions.

Author: Richard Layman

Publisher: Vince Emery Prod

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 359

View: 756

"Dashiell Hammett's novel The Maltese Falcon is often named as one of the best twentieth-century novels. John Huston's film adaptation is one of the earliest examples of film noir. It made Humphrey Bogart a star, and was selected by the American Film Institute as one of the 100 greatest movies of all time. Now, Discovering The Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade uncovers from institutional and private archives a wealth of treasures about Hammett's masterpiece, his detective Sam Spade, the three film versions of the novel, stage adaptations, Sam Spade short stories, radio presentations, and even comics. Many of the discoveries here are previously unpublished. The book provides hundreds of rare documents and original source materials, including production notes for the three movie versions. Contributors include Dashiell Hammett himself, plus Jo Hammett, Richard Layman, Mary Astor, Joseph Shaw, Dorothy Parker, John Huston, Hal Wallis, Darryl F. Zanuck, Joe Gores, William F. Nolan, and more than fifty additional writers. It is illustrated with more than 200 photos, illustrations, and facsimiles. The book is a joy for fans of Hammett, Sam Spade, detective fiction, film noir, and the history of literature and cinema."--Publisher's website.



The Maltese Falcon

Sam Spade is hired by the fragrant Miss Wonderley to track down her sister, who has eloped with a louse called Floyd Thursby.

Author: Hammett Hammett Dashiell

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 165

View: 449

Sam Spade is hired by the fragrant Miss Wonderley to track down her sister, who has eloped with a louse called Floyd Thursby. But Miss Wonderley is in fact the beautiful and treacherous Brigid O'Shaughnessy, and when Spade's partner Miles Archer is shot while on Thursby's trail, Spade finds himself both hunter and hunted: can he track down the jewel-encrusted bird, a treasure worth killing for, before the Fat Man finds him?

The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett Book Analysis

Unlock the more straightforward side of The Maltese Falcon with this concise and insightful summary and analysis!

Author: Bright Summaries

Publisher: BrightSummaries.com

ISBN: 2808018444

Category: Study Aids

Page: 52

View: 653

Unlock the more straightforward side of The Maltese Falcon with this concise and insightful summary and analysis! This engaging summary presents an analysis of The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett, a riveting detective novel that takes the reader on a fast-paced tour of the criminal underbelly of 1930s San Francisco. It all begins when private detective Sam Spade’s partner is murdered, and his attempts to solve the case and clear his own name lead him into a tangled web of criminal liaisons, all of whom have one thing in common: they are all searching for a mythical artefact known as the Maltese Falcon, and Spade may be the only one with the skills to track it down... The Maltese Falcon is considered a pioneering example of ‘hard-boiled’ detective fiction, and also had a significant influence on the emerging cinematic genre of film noir through the 1941 film adaptation starring Humphrey Bogart. Find out everything you need to know about The Maltese Falcon in a fraction of the time! This in-depth and informative reading guide brings you: • A complete plot summary • Character studies • Key themes and symbols • Questions for further reflection Why choose BrightSummaries.com? Available in print and digital format, our publications are designed to accompany you on your reading journey. The clear and concise style makes for easy understanding, providing the perfect opportunity to improve your literary knowledge in no time. See the very best of literature in a whole new light with BrightSummaries.com!

The Maltese Falcon Dashiell Hammett illustrated Literary Thoughts Edition

Literary Thoughts edition presents The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett ------ "The Maltese Falcon" is a 1930 published detective novel by Dashiell Hammett (1894-1961), telling the story of San Francisco based private detective Samuel ...

Author: Dashiell Hammett

Publisher: epubli

ISBN: 374187955X

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 780

Literary Thoughts edition presents The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett ------ "The Maltese Falcon" is a 1930 published detective novel by Dashiell Hammett (1894-1961), telling the story of San Francisco based private detective Samuel "Sam" Spade, who gets hired by a beautiful young woman, "Miss Wonderly", to follow a guy named Floyd Thursby. Sam Spade and his partner Miles Archer take the job, but later that night, Archer is found shot to death. A few hours later, Thursby is also killed and Spade is a suspect. Sam Spade finds out, that it is all about the title object, a foot-high black statuette of unknown but substantial value. All books of the Literary Thoughts edition have been transscribed from original prints and edited for better reading experience. Please visit our homepage www.literarythoughts.com to see our other publications.

The Maltese Falcon to Body of Lies

Examining twenty-eight great noir films from the earliest examples of the genre, including The Maltese Falcon, The Big Sleep, and Out of the Past, to such twenty-first-century spy films as The Good Shepherd, Syriana, and The Bourne ...

Author: Robert Von Hallberg

Publisher:

ISBN: 9780826351364

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 240

View: 861

Examining twenty-eight great noir films from the earliest examples of the genre, including The Maltese Falcon, The Big Sleep, and Out of the Past, to such twenty-first-century spy films as The Good Shepherd, Syriana, and The Bourne Ultimatum, this study explores the representations of trust and commitment that noir and spy films propose.

In Search of the Maltese Falcon

While scuba diving off the coast of Spain, Cyrus and Samantha make a startling discovery.

Author: Mario Fenech

Publisher: FriesenPress

ISBN: 1460206622

Category: Fiction

Page: 160

View: 963

While scuba diving off the coast of Spain, Cyrus and Samantha make a startling discovery. A trunk containing a map to the mysterious island of Melita, and the treasure hidden there. Suddenly, Cyrus and Samantha find themselves embarking on a treacherous adventure that will forever alter their lives, and the lives of their crew.

A Study Guide for Dashiell Hammett s The Maltese Falcon

While a traditional hero might be counted on to do the right thing for the common
good, the protagonist of The Maltese Falcon, Sam Spade, responds to every
situation by examining what he himself stands to gain from it. Spade is willing to ...

Author: Gale, Cengage Learning

Publisher: Gale, Cengage Learning

ISBN: 1410351904

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 36

View: 354

A Study Guide for Dashiell Hammett's "The Maltese Falcon," excerpted from Gale's acclaimed Novels for Students. This concise study guide includes plot summary; character analysis; author biography; study questions; historical context; suggestions for further reading; and much more. For any literature project, trust Novels for Students for all of your research needs.


Dashiell Hammett s The Maltese Falcon

Author: Matthew J. Bruccoli

Publisher: Dictionary of Literary Biograp

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 429

View: 297

Provides researchers basic materials useful in studying The Maltese Falcon: background readings related to Hammett's life; composition of the novel; reception of the novel, including reviews and critical response; and the various media adaptations of this classic complex story.


The Maltese Falcon

Author: Dashiell Hammett

Publisher: Vintage Crime/Black Lizard

ISBN: 9780679722649

Category: Fiction

Page: 217

View: 783

A murder involves Sam Spade in a dangerous search for a valuable statue