The Vital Question

In The Vital Question, award-winning author and biochemist Nick Lane argues that the evolution of multicellular life—the kind found in fungi, plants, animals, and humans—was contingent on a single event: the first successful prokaryotic ...

Author: Nick Lane

Publisher: W. W. Norton

ISBN: 9780393088816

Category: Science

Page: 368

View: 323

To explain the mystery of how life evolved on Earth, Nick Lane explores the deep link between energy and genes.

The Vital Question

This is ground-breaking science in an accessible form, in the tradition of Charles Darwin's The Origin of Species, Richard Dawkins' The Selfish Gene, and Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs and Steel.

Author: Nick Lane

Publisher: Profile Books

ISBN: 1847658806

Category: Science

Page: 569

View: 744

Why is life the way it is? Bacteria evolved into complex life just once in four billion years of life on earth-and all complex life shares many strange properties, from sex to ageing and death. If life evolved on other planets, would it be the same or completely different? In The Vital Question, Nick Lane radically reframes evolutionary history, putting forward a cogent solution to conundrums that have troubled scientists for decades. The answer, he argues, lies in energy: how all life on Earth lives off a voltage with the strength of a bolt of lightning. In unravelling these scientific enigmas, making sense of life's quirks, Lane's explanation provides a solution to life's vital questions: why are we as we are, and why are we here at all? This is ground-breaking science in an accessible form, in the tradition of Charles Darwin's The Origin of Species, Richard Dawkins' The Selfish Gene, and Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs and Steel.


The Vital Question

Author: American Protective Tariff League York

Publisher: Hardpress Publishing

ISBN: 9781314561050

Category:

Page: 24

View: 603

Unlike some other reproductions of classic texts (1) We have not used OCR(Optical Character Recognition), as this leads to bad quality books with introduced typos. (2) In books where there are images such as portraits, maps, sketches etc We have endeavoured to keep the quality of these images, so they represent accurately the original artefact. Although occasionally there may be certain imperfections with these old texts, we feel they deserve to be made available for future generations to enjoy.









The Vital Question Devoted to Natural Food Classic Reprint

About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work.

Author: Natural Food Company

Publisher: Forgotten Books

ISBN: 9780365302483

Category: Cooking

Page: 44

View: 965

Excerpt from The Vital Question, Devoted to Natural Food If the builder is intelligent he can read and understand the plans if he is honest he will carry out the intent of the architect with entirely satis factory results. About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.