The Vital Question

This is ground-breaking science in an accessible form, in the tradition of Charles Darwin's The Origin of Species, Richard Dawkins' The Selfish Gene, and Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs and Steel.

Author: Nick Lane

Publisher: Profile Books

ISBN: 1847658806

Category: Science

Page: 569

View: 175

Why is life the way it is? Bacteria evolved into complex life just once in four billion years of life on earth-and all complex life shares many strange properties, from sex to ageing and death. If life evolved on other planets, would it be the same or completely different? In The Vital Question, Nick Lane radically reframes evolutionary history, putting forward a cogent solution to conundrums that have troubled scientists for decades. The answer, he argues, lies in energy: how all life on Earth lives off a voltage with the strength of a bolt of lightning. In unravelling these scientific enigmas, making sense of life's quirks, Lane's explanation provides a solution to life's vital questions: why are we as we are, and why are we here at all? This is ground-breaking science in an accessible form, in the tradition of Charles Darwin's The Origin of Species, Richard Dawkins' The Selfish Gene, and Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs and Steel.

The Vital Question

"One of the deepest, most illuminating books about the history of life to have been published in recent years." --The Economist

Author: Nick Lane

Publisher: W. W. Norton

ISBN: 9780393352979

Category: Science

Page: 368

View: 463

One of the deepest, most illuminating books about the history of life to have been published in recent years. The Economist"







The Vital Question Devoted to Natural Food Classic Reprint

About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work.

Author: Natural Food Company

Publisher: Forgotten Books

ISBN: 9780365302483

Category: Cooking

Page: 44

View: 172

Excerpt from The Vital Question, Devoted to Natural Food If the builder is intelligent he can read and understand the plans if he is honest he will carry out the intent of the architect with entirely satis factory results. About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.

By what Authority

They want to know, in other words, that God is governing among his people, that he is empowering the body of Christ of which they are a part. The essays in this book address the central issue of authority in the Christian life.

Author: Robert L. Millet

Publisher: Mercer University Press

ISBN: 0881462012

Category: Religion

Page: 200

View: 647

After the apostles Peter and John had healed the lame man at the Gate Beautiful, the two disciples were arrested and later brought before the Sanhedrin to account for their deed, one that continued to stir the already anxious leaders of the Jews: "And when they had set them in the midst, they asked, "By what power, or by what name, have ye done this?" (Acts 4:7.). Indeed, what was the source of their miracle? And by what power or authority did they perform it? Those queries ring through the centuries because people in our day still pose the questions. Most Christians want to be a part of a denomination or organization that is true, faithful to what existed in the first century, authorized, and therefore approved of God. They want to know, in other words, that God is governing among his people, that he is empowering the body of Christ of which they are a part. The essays in this book address the central issue of authority in the Christian life.






A Vital Question Or What is to be Done

This book has been considered by academicians and scholars of great significance and value to literature.

Author: Nikolay G. Tchernyshevsky

Publisher: Alpha Edition

ISBN: 9789389450217

Category: History

Page: 476

View: 776

This book has been considered by academicians and scholars of great significance and value to literature. This forms a part of the knowledge base for future generations. We have represented this book in the same form as it was first published. Hence any marks seen are left intentionally to preserve its true nature.