A Comprehensive Guide to Wheelock s Latin

(5th edition, 1995) Paperback, ISBN 978-0-86516-289-1 VOCABULARY CARDS AND GRAMMAR SUMMARY FOR WHEELOCK'S LATIN Richard A. LaFleur and Brad Tillery This indispensable study aid contains nearly 900 cards on perforated card stock, ...

Author: Dale A. Grote

Publisher: Bolchazy-Carducci Publishers

ISBN: 086516486X

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 338

View: 876

A study guide to accompany the 6th edition of the standard introductory Latin text, Wheelock's Latin. This guide expands and explains important grammatical concepts that the Wheelock text presents too briefly for many contemporary students. -- Fuller grammatical explanations To aid comprehension -- Useful, short exercises (with answer key) To clear up confusion fast -- Additional etymological information To help students memorize -- Companion website For pronunciation help and downloadable drill sheets, vocabulary lists, and more! The Guide's style is casual, to calm and reassure the struggling or intimidated student. Points are repeated so that chapters can be used independently of one another, on an as-needed basis. Grote's Guide was designed for use with the Wheelock text, but has been sucessfully used with othe Latin texts. The Guide is an an excellent resource for -- Homeschoolers: students and instructors! -- Autodidacts -- Reviewing beginning Latin -- Reviewing before an exam

Wheelock s Latin

Frederic M. Wheelock Richard A. LaFleur. editor's annotation , meaning thus ( it was written ) , and used to identify an error or peculiarity in a text being quoted . And here's a brief " kissertation " on the nicest word in this new ...

Author: Frederic M. Wheelock

Publisher: Harper Perennial

ISBN:

Category: Latin language

Page: 497

View: 168

"The classic Latin text, with grammatical explanations and readings based on ancient authors, self-study exercises with answer key"--Cover.

Wheelock s Latin 7th Edition

This new edition of Wheelock's Latin has all of the features, many of them improved and expanded, that have made it the bestselling single-volume beginning Latin textbook: 40 chapters with grammatical explanations and readings drawn from ...

Author: Richard A. LaFleur

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 0061997226

Category: Foreign Language Study

Page: 608

View: 227

For nearly sixty years, Wheelock's Latin has remained the opitmus liber of beginning Latin textbooks. When Professor Frederic M. Wheelock's Latin first appeared in 1956, the reviews extolled its thoroughness, organization, and conciseness; one reviewer predicted that the book "might well become the standard text" for introducing students to elementary Latin. Now, nearly six decades later, that prediction has certainly proved accurate. This new edition of Wheelock's Latin has all of the features, many of them improved and expanded, that have made it the bestselling single-volume beginning Latin textbook: 40 chapters with grammatical explanations and readings drawn from the works of Rome's major prose and verse writers; Self-tutorial exercises, each with an answer key, for independent study; An extensive English–Latin/Latin–English vocabulary section; A rich selection of original Latin readings—unlike other Latin textbooks, which contain primarily made-up texts; Etymological aids, maps, and dozens of images illustrating aspects of the classical culture and mythology presented in the chapter readings. Also included are expanded notes on the literary passages, comments on vocabulary, and translation tips; new comprehension and discussion questions; and new authentic classical Latin readings, including Roman graffiti, in every chapter.

SAT Subject Test Latin

Wheelock's Latin Resources (Online) “Wheelock,” the Latin textbook most commonly used in colleges, has excellent online support that is helpful to students who are reviewing Latin. • Official Wheelock's Latin Series Web Site, ...

Author: Ronald B. Palma

Publisher: Research & Education Assoc.

ISBN: 0738610763

Category: Study Aids

Page: 608

View: 973

Taking the SAT Latin Subject Test? Then REA's SAT Subject Test: Latin Test Prep with Practice Tests on CD is just for you! Written by an experienced Latin teacher, this second edition of our bestselling SAT Subject Test: Latin test prep includes a comprehensive review of covers all language areas appearing on the actual exam including coverage of declensions, conjugations, sentence structure, and more. Each chapter contains numerous examples and practice questions, and tips that help students study smarter and boost their test scores. The book includes two full-length practice tests that replicate the actual exam's question format. Both of the book's practice exams are featured on our TestWare CD with the most powerful scoring and diagnostic tools available today. Automatic scoring and instant reports help you zero in on the topics and types of questions that give you trouble now, so you'll succeed when it counts. Detailed explanations of answers help you identify your strengths and weaknesses. We don't just say which answers are right - we also explain why the other answer choices are incorrect - so you'll be prepared on test day. The book also includes study tips, strategies, and confidence-boosting advice you need for test day. REA's test prep is a must for any high school student taking the SAT Latin Subject Test!

Wheelock s Latin 6th Edition Revised

Wheelock's Latin, sixth edition, revised, has all the features that have made it the best–selling single–volume beginning Latin textbook, many of them revised and expanded: o 40 chapters with grammatical explanations and readings based ...

Author: Frederic M. Wheelock

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 0062016563

Category: Foreign Language Study

Page: 560

View: 132

The classic, single–volume introductory Latin textbook, introduced in 1956 and still the bestselling and most highly regarded textbook of its kind. Wheelock's Latin, sixth edition, revised, has all the features that have made it the best–selling single–volume beginning Latin textbook, many of them revised and expanded: o 40 chapters with grammatical explanations and readings based on ancient Roman authors o Self–tutorial exercises with an answer key for independent study o An extensive English–Latin/ Latin–English vocabulary section o A rich selection of original Latin readings –– unlike other textbooks which contain primarily made–up Latin texts o Etymological aids Also includes maps of the Mediterranean, Italy and the Aegean area, as well as numerous photographs illustrating aspects of classical culture, mythology, and historical and literary figures presented in the chapter readings. o The leading self–tutorial Latin program. Also great for college and accelerated high school courses. o Wheelock's Latin is the top–selling Latin reference in the US. o Interest and enrolments in Latin have been steadily rising in the U.S. for the past 20 years. One–half million people are currently enrolled in Latin classes, and at least 10,000 teachers, professors and graduate assistants are teaching the language in America.

Introductory Readings in Vulgate Latin

In the tradition of Groton and May's 38 Latin Stories, this reader derives from my experience teaching with Frederic M. Wheelock's Latin: An Introductory Course. Each chapter in my book contains from one dozen to two dozen lines of ...

Author: John Thorburn

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 0615215130

Category:

Page:

View: 442


I Fail At Life

FOR NEARLY SIXTY YEARS, WHEELOCK's LATIN HAS REMAINED THE OPTIMUS LIBER OF BEGINNING LATIN TEXTBOOKS. hen Professor Frederic M. Wheelock's Latin first appeared in 1955, the reviews excelled its thoroughness, organization, ...

Author: Scott Barry

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 0359863469

Category:

Page:

View: 628


Ovid Metamorphoses I

38 LATIN STORIES Designed to Accompany Frederick M. Wheelock's Latin : An Introductory Course Based on Ancient Authors Anne H. Groton and James M. May ( Ancilla to Wheelock ) ISBN : 0-86516-171-2 , Paper , $ 10.00 APOLLODORUS THE ...

Author: A.G. Lee

Publisher: Bolchazy-Carducci Publishers

ISBN: 9780862921446

Category: Foreign Language Study

Page: 180

View: 489

This intermediate reader offers text, vocabulary, and notes. The notes focus on fine points of grammar and rhetoric, shades of meaning, and allusions to both classical and modern literature.

Starting to Teach Latin

Wheelock's Latin (Frederick Wheelock, in a new edition by Richard LaFleur, 2011), published by Collins Educational [www.wheelockslatin.com] Number of course books: One. Teacher's handbooks: One. Ancillary printed materials: Student's ...

Author: Steven Hunt

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1472537890

Category: History

Page: 192

View: 867

This handbook for teachers provides both practical, up-to-date guidance and a theoretical overview on a number of key topics in Latin teaching. Using a wealth of interviews, observations and pupil transcripts, Steven Hunt title utilizes case-study evidence of excellent practice in teaching and learning from a wide variety of institutions: from outreach programmes, community schools and academies in the UK, to New York Charter Schools, KIP schools and schools in Eastern Seaboard states in the USA. Offering practical advice on topics such as essay writing, teaching controversial topics including women, slavery, ethnicity and social hierarchy, making use of primary sources and using ICT to advance language skills, the book also engages with broader questions of approach and theory. These include a survey of the three main approaches to Latin teaching: grammar-translation, communicative and reading approaches; explanation of cognitive and social approaches to learning; and analysis of the differences between intrinsic and extrinsic motivation. Moreover, traditional arguments about the value and purpose of learning Latin at school level are re-examined in the light of current educational thinking and government policy-making. This book is invaluable for trainees, newly qualified teachers and more experienced practitioners looking for practical ideas and strategies to motivate and engage learners of Latin. A companion website www.startingtoteachlatin.org is under construction and will contain a range of resources and information for teachers.

The People Power Education Superbook Book 7 Language Learning Guide Free Language Materials On the Web

bestlatin.net/bestiaria.htm, bestiaria latina: stories about animals in latin bible.bestlatin.net, biblia vulgata: bible stories ... latin word list. to.icl.fi/~aj/wheelock/contents.html, a study guide keyed to wheelock's latin grammar ...

Author: Tony Kelbrat

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN: 1312077352

Category: Education

Page:

View: 366

This is a simple book that lists websites about languages, websites to learn languages, websites to learn English, language schools, books, tapes, linguistic organizations, etc. Languages at the library go from #400 to #499. The general breakdown is: 420. English & Anglo-Saxon. 430. Germanic Languages. 440. French, Provencal, Chatelaine. 450. Italian, Romanian, Etc. 460. Spanish & Portuguese. 470. Latin Languages. 480. Classical Greek. 490. Other Languages. 491. East Indo-European and Celtic. 492. Semitic languages. 493. Hamitic and other languages. 494. Ural-Altaic, Dravidian, etc. 495. East and southeast Asian languages. 496. African languages. 497. North American Indian languages. 498. South American Indian languages. 499. Austranesian and other languages.