When Zachary Beaver Came to Town

At turns passionate and humorous, this extraordinary novel deals sensitively and candidly with obesity, war, and the true power of friendship.

Author: Kimberly Willis Holt

Publisher: Henry Holt and Company (BYR)

ISBN: 1429957859

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 240

View: 133

National Book Award Winner The red words painted on the trailer caused quite a buzz around town and before an hour was up, half of Antler was standing in line with two dollars clutched in hand to see the fattest boy in the world. Toby Wilson is having the toughest summer of his life. It's the summer his mother leaves for good; the summer his best friend's brother returns from Vietnam in a coffin. And the summer that Zachary Beaver, the fattest boy in the world, arrives in their sleepy Texas town. While it's a summer filled with heartache of every kind, it's also a summer of new friendships gained and old friendships renewed. And it's Zachary Beaver who turns the town of Antler upside down and leaves everyone, especially Toby, changed forever. With understated elegance, Kimberly Willis Holt tells a compelling coming-of-age story about a thirteen-year-old boy struggling to find himself in an imperfect world. At turns passionate and humorous, this extraordinary novel deals sensitively and candidly with obesity, war, and the true power of friendship. When Zachary Beaver Came to Town is the winner of the 1999 National Book Award for Young People's Literature. This title has Common Core connections.

When Zachary Beaver Came to Town Collector s Edition

The deluxe collector's edition of the National Book Award–winning middle-grade novel—now with a foreword by New York Times–bestselling and Newbery Honor author Sheila Turnage, as well as updated Q&A content from Kimberly Willis Holt ...

Author: Kimberly Willis Holt

Publisher: Square Fish

ISBN: 9781250235183

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 272

View: 332

The deluxe collector's edition of the National Book Award–winning middle-grade novel—now with a foreword by New York Times–bestselling and Newbery Honor author Sheila Turnage, as well as updated Q&A content from Kimberly Willis Holt and other bonus material featuring stories and photos of her childhood. National Book Award Winner The red words painted on the trailer caused quite a buzz around town and before an hour was up, half of Antler was standing in line with two dollars clutched in hand to see the fattest boy in the world. Toby Wilson is having the toughest summer of his life. It's the summer his mother leaves for good; the summer his best friend's brother returns from Vietnam in a coffin. And the summer that Zachary Beaver, the fattest boy in the world, arrives in their sleepy Texas town. While it's a summer filled with heartache of every kind, it's also a summer of new friendships gained and old friendships renewed. And it's Zachary Beaver who turns the town of Antler upside down and leaves everyone, especially Toby, changed forever. With understated elegance, Kimberly Willis Holt tells a compelling coming-of-age story about a thirteen-year-old boy struggling to find himself in an imperfect world. At turns passionate and humorous, this extraordinary novel deals sensitively and candidly with obesity, war, and the true power of friendship. When Zachary Beaver Came to Town is the winner of the 1999 National Book Award for Young People's Literature. This title has Common Core connections.

Focus On Reading

When Zachary Beaver Came To Town:grades 4-6 Walch. Focus on the Book Synopsis to her since she left home . By the end of the book , Toby Toby finds life in Antler , Texas , boring — until the is actually able to be happy again . summer ...

Author: Walch

Publisher: Walch Publishing

ISBN: 9780825149887

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 52

View: 595


The Essential Guide to Children s Books and Their Creators

Holt won the National Book Award for When Zachary Beaver Came to Town ( 1999 ) , which vividly encapsulates the thoughts and feelings of thirteen - year - old Toby during the summer of 1971 as he copes with the disappointments in his ...

Author:

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 9780547348896

Category: Reference

Page: 564

View: 718

Upon publication, Anita Silvey’s comprehensive survey of contemporary children’s literature, Children’s Books and Their Creators, garnered unanimous praise from librarians, educators, and specialists interested in the world of writing for children. Now The Essential Guide to Children’s Books and Their Creators assembles the best of that volume in one handy, affordable reference, geared specifically to parents, educators, and students. This new volume introduces readers to the wealth of children’s literature by focusing on the essentials — the best books for children, the ones that inform, impress, and, most important, excite young readers. Updated to include newcomers such as J. K. Rowling and Lemony Snicket and to cover the very latest on publishing and educational trends, this edition features more than 475 entries on the best-loved children’s authors and illustrators, numerous essays on social and historical issues, thirty personal glimpses into craft by well-known writers, illustrators, and critics, and invaluable reading lists by category. The Essential Guide to Children’s Books and Their Creators summarizes the canon of contemporary children’s literature, in a practical guide essential for anyone choosing a book for or working with children.

Booktalks and More

When Zachary Beaver Came to Town. New York Henry Holt and Company, \sm. 227p. $16.95. ISBN a-WoO-fi ] J fv<J. Summary/Description Tob\' Wilson lives in Antler, Texas. His father raises and sells worms. His mother left for Nashville, ...

Author: Lucy Schall

Publisher: Libraries Unlimited

ISBN: 1563089823

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 277

View: 668

Inspire teenagers to read quality literature and help them explore issues relevant to their lives. This outstanding book offers motivational, ready-to-use booktalks for more than 100 of the best new reads for teenagers, guaranteed to pique teen interest. With a focus on recently published fiction and nonfiction titles in a wide variety of genres and themes, these dynamic booktalks center around issues, problems, and challenges that young adults are facing.


Children s Books in Print

5.50 ( 0-440-22904-9 , Yearling ) BDD Bks Young Read -When Zachary Beaver Came to Town , large type ed . 2000. LC 00-25966 . ( Young Adult Ser . ) . 224p . ( YA ) . 22.95 ( 0-7862-2515-7 , Thomdike ) Gale . --When Zachary Beaver Came to ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Children's literature

Page: 1996

View: 247


Part of Me

In the case of one Louisiana family, that journey can be charted by the books they read and loved.

Author: Kimberly Willis Holt

Publisher: Henry Holt and Company (BYR)

ISBN: 1466887907

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 224

View: 242

The lives of four generations of one Louisiana family, woven together by a master storyteller Tracing a family's roots is like taking a journey through the years. In the case of one Louisiana family, that journey can be charted by the books they read and loved. The journey begins in 1939 with Rose, who moves with her mother and siblings from rural Texas to live with their estranged grandfather in the Louisiana bayou. Rose connects with this flavorful community through her love of books and by driving a bookmobile. Two decades later, Merle Henry, Rose's son, is more passionate about trapping a mink than about reading, although there is a place in his heart for Old Yeller. In 1973, Merle Henry's daughter, Annabeth, feels torn between reading fairy tales and a crush on a real-life knight in shining armor. And in the present day, Annabeth's son, Kyle, finds himself in a bind: he hates reading, but the only summer job he can get is at the library. In her people-smart way, Kimberly Willis Holt introduces us to a Louisiana family: touching, lyrical, and always intriguing, their stories reveal the powerful connections between four generations. Part of Me is a 2007 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.

Mister and Me

" Without a name, he isn't a real person to her. But then Jolene learns that Mister wants to marry Momma. Is there anything Jolene can do to make him go away? "The warmth and love in the Johnson household envelops the novel.

Author: Kimberly Willis Holt

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101077077

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 80

View: 308

Jolene's family was just Momma and Grandpa until big, loud Leroy Redfield started taking Momma dancing. Jolene refuses to call him anything but "Mister." Without a name, he isn't a real person to her. But then Jolene learns that Mister wants to marry Momma. Is there anything Jolene can do to make him go away? "The warmth and love in the Johnson household envelops the novel... Jolene's willingness to face the uncertainties of her future may well give courage to readers confronting sea changes of their own."-Publishers Weekly Awards: ( New York Public Library "100 Titles for Reading and Sharing" ( A Texas Bluebonnet Master List Book

Just My Luck

Like Mr. Norris closing his eyes during Shoshanna's oral book report on When Zachary Beaver Came to Town. We're supposed to pick out a theme to talk about in our oral book reports. Supposedly Shoshanna's a really good reader—she always ...

Author: Cammie McGovern

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 0062330675

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 256

View: 272

Critically acclaimed author Cammie McGovern's powerful and heartwarming middle grade novel will appeal to readers who loved R. J. Palacio's Wonder, Holly Sloan's Counting by 7s, and Lynda Mullaly Hunt's Fish in a Tree. "This brave story, told with wry humor, is inspirational," raved Ann M. Martin, New York Times bestselling author of Rain Reign. Fourth grade is not going at all how Benny Barrows hoped. He hasn't found a new best friend. He's still not a great bike rider—even though his brother George, who's autistic, can do tricks. And worst of all, he worries his dad's recent accident might be all his fault. Benny tries to take his mom's advice and focus on helping others, and to take things one step at a time. But when his dad ends up in the hospital again, Benny doesn't know how he and his family will overcome all the bad luck that life seems to have thrown their way. Just My Luck is a deeply moving and rewarding novel about a down-on-his-luck boy whose caring heart ultimately helps him find the strength to cope with tragedy and realize how much he truly has to offer his friends and family.