Winter at Death s Hotel

A gripping historical mystery perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes. And don't miss THE FRIGHTENED MAN - the first book in Kenneth Cameron's gripping Denton crime mysteries featuring an amateur sleuth you'll never forget.

Author: Kenneth Cameron

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1409132722

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 767

Madness and murder await you... Arthur Conan Doyle, renowned creator of Sherlock Holmes, arrives in New York with his wife Louisa ready to begin his first American tour. While he prepares his lectures, Louise becomes mesmerised by the vibrant and dangerous city. Especially when a woman's corpse is found in a Bowery alley and Louisa is convinced from the artist's sketch in the newspaper that she'd seen the victim in the hotel. Although Arthur is sceptical about her fantasies, when Louisa sprains her ankle and is forced to remain in the hotel she can't resist pursuing her intuitions. And when more bodies start appearing, she's convinced that she holds the key to the killings. With the help of the hotel detective and an ambitious female reporter, Louisa starts to piece together a story of madness, murder and depravity. A gripping historical mystery perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes. And don't miss THE FRIGHTENED MAN - the first book in Kenneth Cameron's gripping Denton crime mysteries featuring an amateur sleuth you'll never forget.

Winter at Death s Hotel

An enticing twist on the Sherlock fervor: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's wife hunts down a serial killer in 1890s New York In January 1896, Arthur Conan Doyle, the renowned creator of Sherlock Holmes, arrives with his wife Louisa at the Britannic ...

Author: Kenneth Cameron

Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark

ISBN: 9781402280825

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 680

An enticing twist on the Sherlock fervor: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's wife hunts down a serial killer in 1890s New York In January 1896, Arthur Conan Doyle, the renowned creator of Sherlock Holmes, arrives with his wife Louisa at the Britannic Hotel in New York for his first American tour. Louisa is instantly mesmerised by this vibrant, dangerous city. When a woman's mutilated corpse is found in a Bowery alley, she becomes convinced from the artist's sketch that she'd seen the victim at the hotel. As more bodies start appearing, Louisa starts piecing together clues to reveal a story of madness, murder and depravity which leads inexorably back to the hotel itself and a madman who is watching her every move.

Death Valley A Winter s Journey

... system was a more daunting adversary. The human mind is a labyrinth of pathways, each person's unique and ever changing. As a psychotherapist I had navigated these shifting passageways with ease and hopefully competence. The hotel's ...

Author: Jackie Keller

Publisher: Page Publishing Inc

ISBN: 1682894118

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 835

The many days and years of her life had been busy, challenging and rewarding, and sometimes overwhelmingly difficult. And over the years she began to dream the dream, as many do, that she could, just once, run away and escape from it all. She dreamed of Death Valley National Park, of a winter’s journey which promised her beauty, calm and a quieted mind. So when her life stress hit the tipping point, Jackie Keller left the university, packed her car and moved to the desert where she found everything she had dreamed of, plus blessings and adventures she had never envisioned. Through this true life story the reader can see the stunning beauty of this glorious national park, explore its history and share the rhythm of day-to-day life in the small community of Furnace Creek. Walk with her through a season of exploration, laughter and renewal. “For anyone who wants to rediscover his/her true self or perhaps find it for the first time, you are invited to join this middle aged professor who quit her job and went to live and work in a vast and imposing desert. It was a winter spent watching, learning, questioning and discovering things she would never have found without her self imposed exile….a beautiful true life story which Dr. Keller masterfully and artfully describes.” Shelley Stokes, Ph. D.

Recollections of a winter s ramble on the continent

I had heard that Earl Brownlow was residing there , and , as we were school friends at Eton together , I had just decided upon paying him a visit , when the shocking intelligence arrived at the hotel of his sudden death that morning .

Author: Tankerville Chamberlayne

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 322

View: 628


The Law Times

“ The friezes look as pleased to note that in ensuing winter Ireland means to rethe agents for these cloths , and a 1aounce their intention ... Oct. DEATHS . 25. Nov. 14 , ar une , at the Angel'hotel , Liverpool . Sols . DANIEL .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Law

Page:

View: 449


Tommy Gun Winter

11. The Boston American, Boston Globe, New York Daily News, and others all reported different versions of what Norma may have shouted in the hotel lobby. CHAPTER 17 1. “House Action Ends Death Penalty,” Boston Herald, April 25, 1963. 2.

Author: Nathan Gorenstein

Publisher: ForeEdge from University Press of New England

ISBN: 1611687349

Category: True Crime

Page: 344

View: 679

This is the true tale of two brothers, sons of a successful Jewish contractor, who along with an MIT graduate and a minister's daughter once competed for headlines with John Dillinger, Pretty Boy Floyd and Bonnie and Clyde. The gang was led by the angry, violent, yet often charismatic Murton Millen, a small-time hoodlum and aspiring race-car driver. With his younger brother, Irv, and later joined by neighborhood buddy and MIT graduate Abe Faber, Murt launched a career of increasingly ambitious robberies. But it was only after his sudden marriage to the beautiful eighteen-year-old Norma Brighton that the gang escalated to murder. Their crime wave climaxed at a Needham, Massachusetts, bank on February 2, 1934, when Murt cut down two local police officers - Francis Haddock and Forbes McLeod - with a Thompson submachine gun stolen from state police. The killings, the dogged investigation by two clever detectives, and the record-setting trial with seventeen psychiatrists were national news. In Depression-era America this Boston saga of sex, ethnicity, and bloodshed made the trio and their "red-headed gun moll" infamous. Gorenstein's account explores the Millen, Faber, and Brighton families and introduces us to cops, psychiatrists, newspaper men and women, and ordinary citizens caught up in the extraordinary Tommy Gun Winter of 1934.

On A Ghostly Winter s Night

Winter Balefire. source. The couple can also be seen together, ... My favorite known ghost of this hotel is Elizabeth Wilson. ... Elizabeth continued to do what she loved at the hotel, even after her death a few decades later.

Author: Winter Balefire

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 138718895X

Category: Reference

Page: 198

View: 957


New York Hotel Record

JACOBS & PELL Hotel Gramatan One of the most unique , up - to - date and at HOTELS homelike hotels in or near New York ... served on Mrs. Matilda stopping at American hotels this fall and twenty - eight minutes from the new Grand winter ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Hotels

Page:

View: 919


Death of a Dentist

“No, she mentioned her family ran a hotel here. I said I would be backpacking, so I'd probably stay at some bed-andbreakfast. Can you recommend one?” “There's several in the village. They don't usually take guests in the winter.

Author: M. C. Beaton

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0446930008

Category: Fiction

Page: 208

View: 333

From the author of the Agatha Raisin television series...DEATH OF A DENTIST: A Hamish Macbeth MysteryA blinding toothache sends Hamish Macbeth 120 miles out of Lochdubh to the dentist Frederick Gilchrist, only to find him dead. Since everyone is pleased the dentist is deceased--patients, several harassed women, and even his wife--Macbeth faces one of the more biting challenges of his career.

Deadline for Death

“Sowhat'd he find out?” “Winter's written report revealed Haefner's personal belongings were stillin his hotel room.Hisgovernment carwas in the hotel parking lot. None of the Reclamation department vehicles were missing.

Author: Steven R. Head

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 1491741112

Category: Fiction

Page: 316

View: 314

After the death of his father, graduate student Wilson Dodge returns to his hometown in Wyoming to run the family newspaper. It’s the mid-1950s: a time of simplicity and peace in Dodge’s small town— until the newspaper’s youngest employee, photographer Corky Freeman, is found dead. For Dodge, nothing is simple anymore. Grayson Farmer is the Fremont County Sheriff , now facing reelection as a Democrat in the year of Eisenhower and the Republicans. He can’t seem to find a suspect or motive in the death of Freeman, and the town’s fresh-faced news editor does little but get in his way. Farmer’s problems only increase due to personnel problems, another death, and the FBI. Dodge sets out to solve Freeman’s murder and finds clues, romance, and family secrets. A journey that leads the newspaperman to lessons and dangers he had not expected. And as the body count rises and fills the front page, Dodge declares a deadline on reporting deaths.